Coffee’s stages …

The man, the coffee, the artist! Riko has been a legend at the Mallala Hotel, when it had different people in charge, and different people behind the bar. This gloriously decorated cuppa was made especially for the gloriously bearded Riko, but the lovely Elle, who has moved on to quite different things. No longer a barmaid, but real estate person and now a new mother. Life always has the chance to move in different directions …coffee art

I would imagine the coffee cup pictured was hot when Riko received it, then it may have become warm and then tepid, as Riko sipped at the lip of the cup. It may even have become cool and even then cold. These are the stages of coffee. Many people never experience more than one stage, the hot stage. These would be the people who have money to spare, but who have not much time to spare. They will drink their cup down quick and then move off to their next thing to do.

Other people only drink cold coffee. The cup would have been hot, then tepid, and cool, but this kind of person would have been busy doing important things and had no time for sipping lazily at a cup of coffee. These are often the people who make the coffee for everyone else, the people with spare time, who can slowly sip their way through the stages of coffee.

I thank all of the people who supply me with coffee, and appreciate their work. I feel sorry for them though, to be unable to experience full range of what a cup of coffee can be. I’m glad to be one of the people who gets to sit with a cup of coffee through the whole range of temperatures. I’m also glad that the final, cold stage only applies to the very end of the experience, and to only the merest of drops of coffee. Most of my cups of coffee is drunk at the warm stage, after a quick but careful sip of hot coffee, then a lovely stage of sipping lovely warm coffee.

I often am hit with some kind of inspiration at the warm stage, and something else gets my attention, coffee cup ignored as I perhaps write the first draft of a new piece of writing, a poem perhaps. Then, writing done, I will now have my cup of coffee at the tepid stage. I may drink it down quickly then, and perhaps eat something, and once the food has gone, perhaps think about my next cup of coffee, knocking back the final cold sip, and then getting the next blissful cup of inspiration!

What stage is your favourite one, for your cup of coffee? Hot, warm, tepid, cool, or cold? I’d love to know your thoughts about coffee. Does coffee inspire you, as it inspires me?